Ο τοπικός πολιτισμός της περιοχής των Τζουμέρκων
Υπόμνημα:

The Monastery of Saint Catherine

The Monastery of Saint Catherine is located just above the settlement of Katarraktis on the western side of Tzoumerka. It was established in 1730 although according to an inscription which is still preserved to this day a large scale reconstruction project took place in 1827. A wood carved altar piece stands out as does the large icon of Saint Catherine which was created in 1820 by the abbot Dionysios with a golden embossed cover, assumed to be the work of silversmiths from Kalarrytes. In the mid-19th century the Monastery would experience great prosperity. According to sources the Monastery annually contributed a sum of 1800 piasters to the settlement’s local school

Oral Tradition on the Monastery of Saint Catherine’s restoration

“One night a few shepherds noticed a faint light towards the direction of the village. The following evening the light appeared again. When one of them finally approached the faintly lit spot he found an icon of Saint Catherine. The local villagers considered this encounter a sign and they built a small chapel where they kept the icon. It just so happened that four monks, Gabriel, Gregory, James and Damian reached the village at the same time. They decided to settle in the village and with the assistance of Sister Magdalene they decided to establish the Monastery of Saint Catherine. The very best craftsmen from Pramanta went specifically there to build the Monastery. The locals also helped with personal labor and the stone-built Monastery began operating on September 11, 1827 inaugurated by Abbot Gabriel.”